sandhillview

A Bird’s Eye View!

Posted on: July 12, 2011

These are the ramblings of Mr Bird…

When I was asked to take part in the Carnival activities during Creativity Week I felt quite uncomfortable and even a little bit put off because these are activities that I have either never done before, or I am rubbish at!  I went along anyway and found myself in with the Capoeira group on Monday where everybody was better than me.  But I got involved and really enjoyed myself.

Over the next few days I got involved with Brazilian Drumming, Salsa Dancing, Contemporary Dancing (including the Heavy Metal of Brazil’s own Soulfly!), Circus Skills…  The list goes on and on.  I will admit that even by the end of thursday I was still struggling to see how it would all go together when we got into Sunderland.

I think my high point of the week was seeing it all come good in town.  We arrived in the backstage area and everyone was doing a Sunshine Dance.  A lot of pupils’ friends and families turned up along with some very bemused passers by.  However, once the carnival began a beam of Rio Sunlight shone and everybody got into the carnival spirit.  At the end a lady asked what it was all in aid of she told me that she was an ex Sandhill View pupil, from the first year it was open!

It was a crazy week, it was a fun week, would I do it all again? YEAH!

Leave a Reply

  • None

Categories

Archives

